The Story Behind the Song “You’re With Me” (Or, Why Gradual is Awesome)

If you’ve listened to the song You’re With Me, you won’t be surprised to learn where the inspiration came from: the ocean.

I live in Colorado, a land-locked state, so it is always kind of a big deal to get to visit the ocean.

I wrote this song a few years back when I was visiting Los Angeles. I spent the afternoon at the ocean and the next morning it poured out of me. It was one of the first times I traveled out of my state to play a concert. I felt like I was on the cusp of something big.

Looking back, was I? Not really.

For years I’ve felt like I’ve been on the cusp of something big. But truthfully, nothing big has happened to me in my career yet. From the beginning, it’s all been about gradual growth.

I learned about the beauty of gradual twelve years ago when I signed up to do  a Century Ride (biking 100 miles in one day) with Team In Training. I was scared out of my wits to do it but I somehow pushed myself to sign up. I think the most I had biked before that was twelve miles and I figured that if signed up with them (I had to raise a bunch of money to do it) that they would train me for the ride.

And train me they did.

But it wasn’t rocket science. The first Sunday we rode 20 miles. The next Sunday we rode 30, then 40, then 50 all the way until we reached 100. It was awesome because what had at first seemed unreachable – biking 30 miles in a day, say – by the end became my new norm. That day I became someone who can bike 100 miles in a day. That’s huge to have that knowledge and confidence inside me.

For years I’ve run three miles and not a step more. I couldn’t even fathom running father than that. But one day this summer a friend invited me to run four miles, so that quickly became my new norm. So, why not run six? If I can do six, then how about eight? What about ten? Then… bam! I just ran a half marathon. Now my new norm is someone who can run 13 miles at a time. That’s in me. Again, huge.

And so it’s been with my career: With every concert I’ve played I learned a little something and have gotten a little better. Over the years I’ve gradually gotten better gigs, been given better opportunities, gotten more press, built a fan base, and on and on. The steps have for the most part been incremental and manageable.

So, will that huge bump up come at some point? Maybe.

But for now I’m sitting tight with my ol’ buddy Gradual.

Head Shot Lo ResJulie Geller is a singer/songwriter who is saving the world one song at a time by writing original, uplifting, positive music in English and Hebrew. You can watch her latest videos here. Sign up for free monthly music at www.JulieGeller.com.

Leave a Reply

