Got Grit?

IMG_3840

When I was on the Inca Trail last week, I felt strong, confident, sure-footed.

But most of all, I felt like I had grit.

I remember a conversation I had with my father eleven years ago. He told me about a friend of his who could do anything. You need something done, you call this guy and he’ll do it. New roof? Sure. Want to open a restaurant? He’ll help you. Taxes? Whatever. He’ll say yes and then he’ll figure out how to do it. I remember telling my dad that, although I desperately wanted to be that type of person, I just couldn’t be that way. Something was stopping me from saying yes to opportunities. Maybe I wanted to do things perfectly, or maybe I just didn’t have the confidence to know that I could deliver on things. I’m not sure.

So, there I was on the trail last week. I wasn’t the one in the best shape.

But I kept up.

I was right up there with the best of them. My thinking was, “If someone’s going to do this, then why not me?”

So, of everything I’ve learned in my 30’s, I’d say becoming a person who isn’t afraid to say yes is what has changed the most.

I’ve got grit now and there’s no stopping that.

Leave a Reply

