Want to Sabotage Yourself? Try These!

Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 9.31.08 AM
Somebody recently asked me how I manage to have a music career while also raising three children.  This got me thinking about how I spend my time, at which point I realized that my life is less cluttered than ever. I have time to do the things I want to do, which in my case are mainly 1) writing and sharing my music, and 2) being with family and friends. This got me thinking about my twenties and early thirties where I could never find time to do what I wanted to do. There were just a lot of things taking up my mental energy, not to mention my actual time.

So, I compiled this list of everything I did for years that held me back from happiness and success. If you want to stay stuck where you are, I suggest trying most or all of these.
1. Gossip about Others. This will take all the energy you could be focusing on building your dreams and focus it squarely on other people, what is going on in their lives, and their shortcomings.
2. Be a Perfectionist. This will ensure that you never produce anything. You may eke out something every few months or years and it may be perfect but it won’t be fun and it will cause you a lot of anxiety.
3. Be Afraid to Fail. This way, you won’t have to do anything. Just stay in your small little box.

4. Hate Your Job. Be sure to seethe. And blame the people you work with. Be sure never to leave that job, but complain about it a lot.
5. Say “Yes” to Everything. Because your time is not valuable. Let others use it up.
6. Worry. About everything. All the time.
7. Doubt Yourself. Because who are you to deserve anything? Who are you to do anything when everybody else is more talented and doing it so much better?
8. Surround Yourself With People Who Deplete Your Energy. Because how do you get rid of them? Plus, they’re familiar in a comforting way.
9. Take Everything Personally. Because, ouch!
10. Blame Your Unhappiness on Others. Because, really, they didn’t treat you right. And you were so powerless. If it wasn’t for those things that happened, you would be happy right now.
11. Be Unkind. Because their behavior warrants it.

Julie Geller is a singer/songwriter who is saving the world one song at a time by writing original, uplifting, positive music in English and Hebrew. Sign up for free monthly music at www.JulieGeller.com.

Leave a Reply

