Start Where You Are

ImageYes, the title for this post is stolen from Pema Chodron‘s book by the same name. A wise friend gave me Start Where You Are: A Guide to Compassionate Living just when I needed it. The gist of the book is that we can begin to awaken to life by embracing rather than denying the painful parts of our lives.  You start by embracing the muck rather then denying that you’re standing in it.

The same is true of the creative process.  There is only one place to start and that is wherever you are in the moment.

This morning I was in a tired, cranky mood.  I had my time set aside to write so I spent it in the studio writing obnoxious songs that will likely never see the light of day.  I found that I was wrestling with everything so I even started to work on a song about Jacob, who wrestled with an angel (though I’m not so sure that that’s who I was wrestling with).

The point is, bad mood or not, I still showed up.  I honored my commitment to create, did my best, got some ideas out there, and started work on some songs.

So, here it is: Start where you are. Don’t fight it.  Do some work.  See where it takes you.

What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Start Where You Are

Leave a Reply

